RSS Feed

A photo-based update

It’s been a few days since I’ve updated, so I figured I would post a few pictures to explain what I’ve been up to.

A few weeks ago, my husband and I “rescued” a little kitten from our back porch and brought her in to try to tame her and find a nice family to adopt her. Anyone interested? Bueller? Bueller?

As you can see, she is freaking adorable. She’s friendly, playful, and curious. She likes to snuggle in bed at night or in the morning, and she gets along pretty well with the other cats.

  Here is a picture of her with Samedi, the youngest of our two adult cats. Since they’re both black it might be a little hard to see, but they’re snuggling together. Eli isn’t a big fan, but he’s kind of grouchy around the youngun’s, so we won’t blame the little kitten.

She’s been to the vet and had her first set of shots, and we will continue to take her in for more shots as she gets older.

She is perfectly healthy, and has had a dose of de-wormer (it is pretty typical for outside cats to have worms). She is also on a multi-type flea, tick, and heartworm medication. She isn’t fixed yet, because she’s not old enough.

As you can see, this sweet little girl needs a loving home. Is anyone interested? We are fostering her for now, but we cannot keep her forever. She deserves a family to live with forever.
What else have we been up to, you ask, other than rescuing kittens and being our normal fantastic selves?

Well, you know me. I’ve been cooking. This is a turkey hash I made with leftover turkey breast and potatoes. I added cheese and an over-easy egg to the top, and voila– a way to make leftovers look like something else! I’ve been studying to take the Colorado bar exam, so my cooking lately has been more along the lines of “make something easy while I’m playing bar review lectures” rather than creative and fun, so I don’t really have a lot to say on that front. For example, tonight we’re having hot dogs.

Tomorrow night we’re having tacos.

Thursday night we’re having leftover hot dogs and tacos.

Friday night we’re having hamburgers.

Getting the idea?

The Saturday after next (July 7) is our five year anniversary. Putting aside the fact that I cannot believe we have been married for five years, the thought of thinking of what to do was exhausting. I didn’t want to do anything, except maybe sleep. Part of the reason is that Saturday July 7 is the day I’m supposed to do a mock-bar exam for my bar review class. That’ll be 6 hours right there of multiple choice questions. I am not looking forward to it. So the thought of getting all dressed up and going out to eat after that is…exhausting.

I’d initially put my husband in charge of the plans, and after we started talking about how exhausted and overwhelmed I was, he came up with a lovely, perfect, brilliant solution: “Let’s go to Good Eats.” Good Eats is a deli, with delicious sandwiches and soups and plastic booths and it was once an Arby’s, I think. Not fancy fixin’s, folks. But that’s a-ok with me. Cheap, quick, minimal stress. That makes me happy.

Do you know what else makes me happy? Soap. For those of you new to my blog, or those of you who pretend to read it and don’t really but are now deciding to have a look, I made soap. Yesterday, I got a huge shipment in of new fragrances, colors, and molds to play with. Here are some of the results.

This soap is fragranced with Oatmeal, Milk, & Honey fragrance from Brambleberry.com. The white soap is a goat’s milk soap, and the clear amber soap is honey soap. There are no artificial colorants in it. I layered it with steel cut oats in a 9″ loaf mold from Brambleberry.

 

Isn’t it lovely? It turned out great, and I couldn’t be more excited. Last night I also made single bars of all of my new fragrances, so if you live near me, give me a shout and I can let you take a look at/smell everything I’ve got!

 

Leave a Reply

