RSS Feed

Post-Boot Camp Workouts

First, let me say that I genuinely love my ankles. I was going to take a picture of them, but they didn’t look as good on film as they do in real life. So that’s out. Instead, I give you a photo is Sarah Robles, who is a BAMF weightlifter who represented the USA in London 2012.

 

 

For those of you who say weightlifting isn’t a sport…uh, you try to lift that much weight then. Put up or shut up.

Being a strong woman is hot. Being a weak woman may get you attention…but it won’t be the right kind of attention.  So lift, or do body weight exercises, or anything. Skinny-fat is the new, well….fat.

 

That said, I did my first workout sans trainer Taylor today– Taylor moved back to Texas, so Rob and I are on our own once more.

This is what I did:

 

15 Min Bike warm-up: increasing resistance

Squats: 3x 10 body weight

Assisted Pull-ups 3×5 at minimum weight required

Static lunges w/ weights: 3x 5 each leg

Squat Press: 3 x 10 (actually, these ended up being regular squats, as it was hurting my back. Something’s wrong with my form, gotta figure it out.)

1-armed rows 3×10 each arm

Step-ups onto bench 3×5 each leg

Deadlifts: 3 x 10

Single Arm dumbbell swing: 3x 10 each arm

Stair Run: 3x up and down

All in all, it took me 45 or 50 minutes, not including the walk to and from the gym.

Here’s what Robert did: Bike.

I’m very sore this morning, but it feels great to know that I can sweat and work hard without Taylor.

Tonight’s going to be a walk around the neighborhood and abs. It should be a run, but until I get new vibrams (as early as tomorrow), I can’t run.

Tomorrow I’ll squeeze in a 10×10 after my couponing class. Robert better join me.

Leave a Reply

